Landslide victory for BJP in Arunachal Pradesh assembly polls

The BJP crossed the 31-seat mark in Arunachal Pradesh to claim simple majority in the 60-member Assembly, while the opposition party Congress managed to score just four seats, the Lok Sabha results made available by the Election Commission showed Thursday.

Among the seats which the BJP has cornered so far include Dambuk, Khansa East, Lumla, Bameng, Doimukh among others.

The Congress has retained three of the 42 seats it had won in 2014 — Sagalee seat, Mebo, Borduria-Bogapani — while wrestling Pasighat West from the BJP.

Also, during the 2014 election, BJP had won 11 seats, PPA five and two Independents won one seat each.

The saffron party has clinched 40 Assembly seats, including three unopposed, and is currently taking a lead in two constituencies.

In Miao constituency, state Geology and Mining Minister and BJP nominee Kamlung Mossang beat Chatu Longai of the Congress by 3,856 votes to retain the seat.

Chief Minister Pema Khandu, BJP, won the election from the Mukto seat, bordering China, for the third time in a row, and his deputy Chowna Mein bagged the Chowkham constituency.

BJP candidate Honchun Ngandam, seeking re-election from Pongchau-Wakka seat, defeated his rival, Thangkai Khusumchai of Congress, by a margin of 3788 votes.

For the Tawang seat, BJP candidate Tsering Tashi trounced veteran Congress leader Thupten Tempa by a margin of 3,592 votes.

For the first time, the BJP will form government in the Himalayan state with the support of its own MLAs.

Abha Boyal

Abha has taste of years in journalism and writing. She is known to elaborate her findings in a vibrant way. With writing as her incredible skill, Abha also enjoys exploring new places. She stays focused on whatever she does and this makes her an all rounder.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.