Phase 1 of Lok Sabha 2019 voting kicks off today

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will be conducted across the country in seven phases, the first of which will take place on April 11. The process to elect the new government of India will be a two-month long process.

In the first phase, citizens of 20 states will vote for 91 out of the 543 seats that are up for grabs. In the second phase, 97 seats will go to polls. The third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh phases will witness citizens voting for 115, 71, 51, 59, 59 seats respectively.

The states going into Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Phase 1 are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Lakshadweep.

Phase 1 of Lok Sabha Elections will witness 25 parliamentary constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, 2 in Arunachal Pradesh, 5 in Assam, 4 in Bihar, 1 in Chhattisgarh, 2 in Jammu and Kashmir, 7 in Maharashtra, 1 in Manipur, 2 in Meghalaya, 1 in Mizoram, 1 in Nagaland, 4 in Odisha, 1 in Sikkim, 17 in Telangana, 1 in Tripura, 8 in Uttar Pradesh, 5 in Uttarakhand, 2 in West Bengal, 1 in Andaman and 1 in Lakshadweep going to polls.

While national parties Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress have their presence in most states in the country, regional parties are also a force to reckon with.

One can log on to the National Voter Services Portal’s Electoral Search page (NVSP) and check if their name is on the voter’s list by entering their details. They can also alternatively put in their Electoral Photo ID Card (EPIC) number.


Saurabh Chopra

With a blend of vivid areas of interest, Saurabh is a passionate reader and a news writer. He is always enthusiastic and proactive in finding the latest in his fields of interest. Saurabh is also a keen observer in the economic and business pits and falls.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.